To the Bullied / I see you

I see you.
In the shadow, in the closet
in the rear of the room
I see you
with the black eye, with the torn shirt
with the soul bruised and worn
I see you

despite the words
flying off the handles
mixed messages of need love
want sex must have this shit
to be grand
the got to get a boy or girl friend
can’t live with out the
new channel or the
cocoa handbag
the
I got to make this grade
make this play
be the best
or I’m less
rhythm of the
now
::pausing::
I know you feel lost in the mix
like there isn’t time for you
like you are a shadow
passing through
a bag to be punched
a bad joke to be spit
but I tell you this
I see you!

I see you.
In the shadow, in the closet
in the rear of the room
I see you
with the black eye, with the torn shirt
with the soul bruised and worn
I see you
open your eyes and see you too…
because despite the words
no one is speaking
the help yous the
it will be alright
the don’t take their prejudice
bigoted bullied stance
put your fists up and fight
know I’m standing with you
know…
I’m standing with you
we all are
every one of us who has
been beaten
been shorn
been broken, shattered, and torn
by words, deeds, and punctuation
in this…
Won’t protect us cuz we’re different
nation
get you..
we see you
and if we made it
you will too.
::K.A.P.O.W::

#activistpoetsatlarge

2 thoughts on “To the Bullied / I see you”

    1. Silvia – you are most welcome. I struggled with this piece – I really wanted to say something… so I am very glad you felt it. : ]

Leave a Reply

