Sum of my parts

I
am not the sum of my parts
let me say that again
I
am not the sum of my parts.

It required a number of conspiracies
and intricacies
for the universe to melt
and knit
this skin into the cover of me
but it is not the book
not the story
All that came to pass
is the past and
not given life
in this woman
you see.

I
am not the sum of my parts.
again…hear me
I
am not the sum of my parts.

The DNA of my person
derived from Irish, Cherokee, Italian and
German
which were mixed pre-them
to create the future of post-when
in the reflection of a color
off shaded and
and disguised
but

I am not the sum of my parts
do you hear me?
I am not the sum of my parts.

You see
I am sure there were assholes and saints
in the blood running through these veins
there are stories of love
stories of hate
stories of pain
gain
gun downed
and manipulate
but even all of this, though
in truth an interesting trip
does not
uncover and
discover
any of
this ::pointing to self::
because

I am not the sum of my parts
let me say it again
I am NOT the sum of my parts.

In this new math I am teaching
lets multiply and
divide
truth
fraction out meaning
beneath the cover of shades
and realize
I am not the great great uncle
who owned slaves
nor am I the woman
who birthed a child out of rape
I am not the brother
who sold out a sister
to the national party of days
nor am I the slander
from the lips of a father
sent early to his grave
I am not the sister stealing
not a mother dealing
not a past decision gone wrong and sealing
fate

Stop trying to make me
feel that way!

I
am not the sum of my parts!
I am a new creation
the remake of a hundred
successes and
mistakes
the second and third
chances
of lives gone right,
lives gone wrong
but don’t hold the sword
above my head for
the dealings of lives long since gone.

because
I
am not the sum of my parts
this near transparent shade
calls the feet trampled tribes
from Florida to graves
on trails of tears to their final destination
cheated of land out of violent contradiction
the forest hunter’s prey, the clock makers last day,
the masters daughter unable to save and the
poisoned Irish slave
but hear me again
and hear me from the heart

I am not
the sum
of my parts
and if you understand my meaning through
and through
that means
neither
are
you.

::speak peace and write on::

Leave a Reply

