Culture

People are always talkin about culture,
but I have such a hard time knowing
which culture I fit into.
I have so many
stories
running in my veins
I am not sure
which one counts and
which one is in
vain.
Do I
only pay attention
to the dominant features,
the brown eyes,
the unsuntannable skin,
the dark brown hair infused with red….
what is my culture?
Am I Cherokee?
Am I Irish?
Am I German?
Am I Scot, Pol, or
Eu-ro-pe-an? and
which one will you hate less?
These are the questions
I ask
as a poet,
as an artist,
as a person who wants
to be the kind of person
I would want in my own life…
but sometimes not having a culture or
having too many or
not having my cells fully represent me,
my DNA almost exploding
in treachery
makes me wonder
if I will ever be able to
sort out the stories
so that you will read
past my cover…
and discover…
who I am.

Cuz people are always talking about culture
and I am always on the outside lookin in.

One thought on “Culture”

  1. I guess your culture might be the things you like about yourself that is similar to the majority of people surrounding you. Or at least that how I like to think of it. I wanna emphasize the word ‘like’ in it since it usually is something you would like to share to other people with a different ‘culture’. 😀

Leave a Reply

