Sonnet I

When first the light of day sets still
send last its breath to meet the sky
and colors dance and lovers thrill
to render not their mornings ‘bye;
When stars set their course unbidden
in heaven’s drape of darkened silk;
wishes float at last unhidden;
to flight and fury, bloom and wilt.
Then to so shadows crawl long and sweet
touch first cold hand upon my breast;
and I stand in silence; old fears to meet
ghosts of past woes, now hold transfixed.
But should I breathe; eyes close to open souls well
I find your face and break night’s spell

{{Author Note: This was inspired by John Donne 1572 – 1631, whose poem Death Be Not Proud – sent shivers down my spine and further inspired me to write!  The one I did, called Sonnet I, is one of my Grandmother’s favorites.}}

One thought on “Sonnet I”

Leave a Reply

