The Joyous Song of Sagonige Gitlu

:: In honor of N. Scott Momaday (1934 – ) and his poem The Delight Song of Tsoai-talee::

I am a cloud on bluest sky
I am the brown of earth rolling hills
I am the bird rising, reeling, in the air
I am the light trailing shadow
I am the fire, lingering after embers
I am hawk, circling a day
I am a hand full of seeds
I am paint upon ancient walls
I am the coolness in the spring
I am the roaring of a flood
I am the glass through which you look
I am the direction that you took
I am the fox standing
I am the crow laughing
I am the blue jay guarding egg
I am the hunger of a young cub
I am the compass of all dreams
You see, I am alive, I live
I stand in good faith with Mother earth
I stand in good faith with the Gods
I stand in good faith beauty
I stand in good faith as daughter to Svnoyiehin
I stand in good faith to the son of Nvdoigaehi
You see, I am alive, I live
I am alive
I live

 

Leave a Reply

