Passing by

I passed by regret today

and it reached out to snag my foot on the

words lashed out in argument

anger, fear, and neglect.

I did my best to reconcile

to boldly lay out a plan for the party

to end in understanding and peace

and yes, we ended it with a kiss

but I

still noticed

the shadowed hand lingering at my ankle.

 

this is my path,

this is my lesson

out of fear I walked this way

out of faith I must see it through

out of love I must strive to make it work

but in the end, out of honor I must

decide

to I stop and share tea with this

thing at my foot

or do I leave it on the road

as I am passing by?

Leave a Reply

