Storms come

Storms have come
Rising up over hill
billowing white edged in darkness
creep into view
Wind once whispering, bellows
sky shutters its halls of blue in anticipation
and I remain on the cause and way of my life
patient and wanting
longing and waiting
for what I know must come
Ghost and sentry turn swirls of gray
sway trees bending to will
ground solid trembling
under footsteps of march
towards climax of thunderous striking
But I remain on the cause and way of my life
patient and wanting
longing and waiting
for what I know must come
The first drops of rain
tip and tide their way across my face
though flowers bow and kneel
My hands unfurl, arms reach out
against the fury now upon me
each clap of sorrow and relentless cry
Grasp I her body with my own
the reflection of my soul
to hold her trembling within me
and there is no turning back
no backward pedal cowering
when she accepts the longing of my heart
her veils of stratus furiously climb and coming
to cover the whole of my world
once peaceful quiet to a deathly still
replace with the rush of quench and drowning
so that before she is through
before she is finished
before she is resolved
before I am released
I will surely skyward fall
then upon awaking
only to find
upon the cause and way of life
patient and wanting
longing and waiting
longing and
waiting
I remain.

Leave a Reply

