There it stood

There   it    stood

grand and open
wide enough for both
dreams and my doubt
it called to me like an old friend
a lover past into the ages
a stranger eager to meet
my out stretched hand
entreating me to give way to
whatever divine experiment
lay ahead but

my    feet     stayed

It was not light enough
the time was not right
the stars in sextile motion
lay just off center in the
retrograding discovery
lions awaited surely
just beyond the wood
or maybe dragons long since
gone but awakened just for me
no, seriously, I kid you not
perhaps disease or malice
harm, trouble and pain
play cards at the base of the hill
an empty seat for me to
join them but

There    it     stood

grand and open
whispering of bravery
courage and a life well lived
as if this covered wall would
not sustain me
surely it had in times past
surely it will stand times more
its cold rough hewn edges do not
lean even for a minute
hand reaches out to caress
but

nothing    reaches    back

now the heart must decide
if living is worry or if living is
facing the world beyond
if motion towards mornings
yet believed to come will come
if evenings will signal stars or thieves
if love is in short supply and if even
the lion or dragon or fearsome beast
will comply with such a simple emotion
and let a traveler pass out of mercy
may haps storms will drench
fires chase
stones to stumble and hearts to break

There    it    stood laughing gleefully behind me

as pavers and tuffs of grass greeted my

soles with joy

and I the road ahead.

2 thoughts on “There it stood”

Leave a Reply

