40 Years

I have come a long long way
40 years in a desert I don’t always remember
over a landscape I cannot always forget
Its desolate trees
its menacing winds
to its kelly green grasses glazed in
a hue of deliciously orange sky covered hills
Yes, I have come a long long way
I have come a long long way
40 years through mountains of growing I don’t always remember
through valleys I cannot always forget
its stained carpets
its menacing trivializations of beauty
to its kind words covered in glorious reassurances
by fathermother hands my own and not always my own
Yes, I have come a long long way
I have come a long long way
40 years across oceans of learning I don’t always remember
under currents I cannot always forget
Its pull towards the dreams of my father
Its yank towards the dreams of my mother
to the northern stars of my own come
like brilliant diamonds in a setting
made for me by the gods which
I fled for 10 and found I could not resist
any longer.
Yes, I have come a long long way
I have come a long long way
40 years in a desert I don’t always remember
over a landscape I cannot always forget
thirst and hunger subsided with stamps
shame and regret hidden under second hand pants
to the values of love and sacrifice beautifully written
on the back side of encouragement
in courage meant
to be the foundations of my life
and it was successful
Oh yes yes yes
yes, I have come a long long way
and I have a long long way to go
though
I do not know how much time my long long
will be
I cannot see
the future
but my future, surely sees me and if
I have already traveled 40 years
Whatever years, or months or weeks or days or hours or minutes I have to travel yet
some I won’t remember
and some I won’t forget
but all of it will be
my journey.

Leave a Reply

