Secret of the Universe

or the day I ate a plum.

I sliced open a ripe plum
its tender insides released the sweetest fragrance
the seed shown like a treasure to be buried.
As I took it all in, I had the briefest of vision:
A tree, holding on to dear life
through fierce weather
violent storm
raging beetle and insect swarm
animal peeing and clawing
human leaning child swinging
all without regard
for the blossoms struggling
to open
then once its bright arms
reached out towards the sun
an invasion of stingers and
creatures stealing and sucking
the life of it
to transport the life of it
giving birth to
the life within it
this plum
which now
gives
life
to
me.

and I smiled – realizing the plum and I had shared the secret of the universe.

3 thoughts on “Secret of the Universe”

Leave a Reply

